CONMEBOL Copa América 2021 Secures Betsson As official Regional Sponsor

Published: 2nd June 2021
Author: Joe Kizlauskas
Last Updated: 27th February 2023

The South American Football Confederation’s (CONMEBOL) Copa América 2021 has secured online gaming firm Betsson as the official regional sponsor.

The hiring comes after the firm’s development in Latin America from 2020 to 2021, which included advances to Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, and Mexico. It has also secured significant sponsorships in Peru, which will help to further develop Betsson’s trademark brand in the country.

Oldest national team football championship 

Betsson Operations CEO Jesper Svensson commented: “At Betsson, we are passionate about sport, especially football and what better way to show this passion than by being part of the oldest national team football championship in the world. 

“The sponsoring of CONMEBOL Copa América 2021, is a further commitment towards our ambitions for this region. We will be part of the entire journey to keep fans engaged with compelling, authentic experiences.”

Betsson will receive a variety of benefits and exposure opportunities as part of the deal, including branding rights, stadium perimeter board signage and video boards, press backgrounds, and banners on the official website and mobile app.

The brand will also be the only sponsor of the CONMEBOL Copa America’s official social media platforms’ ‘Match Line Up’ for all 28 matches, as well as the much-anticipated ‘Player of the Week’ surveys.

When Colombia plays, Betsson Group will be permitted to use some of the CONMEBOL Copa America branding assets for their Colombian brand, Colbet.

Raise Betsson’s brand awareness

Svensson added: “This is a fantastic opportunity to raise Betsson’s brand awareness to a new level in the markets we’re operating in. We know that CONMEBOL Copa America is a huge event and is very popular in LatAm countries, and beyond.”

Juan Emilio Roa, CONMEBOL’s Commercial Director, stated: “We see this partnership as a milestone in CONMEBOL Copa America history. It connects football lovers through the sports passion and cheerful experiences with their national teams’ performance in the world’s most traditional national teams competition.”

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela will compete in the 47th Copa América, which will take place between June 13 and July 10.

joe profile pic

About Joe Kizlauskas

Joe is a seasoned iGaming copywriter and speaker who has been in the business since 2015. He's written more words on all elements of iGaming than he likes to remember, and he's contributed material to a number of well-known brands. Joe may be seen playing 5 a side, at the gym or playing games on his Playstation when he is not writing.